Staff Sections

Main Content

NC Wing Holds Change of Command Ceremony

Col Bailey takes CC's Oath
1 of 6
Col R. Jason Bailey takes his oath as the new NC Wing Commander on 25 June 2016. Photo Credit: 2d Lt Patrick Schneider (click image to view full size)
Story Tools

Col R. Jason Bailey Assumes Command of the Wing

7/5/2016––The North Carolina Wing of the Civil Air Patrol (CAP) held a Change of Command ceremony on 25 June 2016 at the Stanly County Airport and NC Air National Guard Base in New London, NC.  During the ceremony, Col David E. Crawford relinquished Command of the NC Wing and Col R. Jason Bailey accepted Command of the Wing.

Under a blazing hot sun, 140 CAP cadets graduated from the Wing’s Summer Encampment and passed in review for the assembled Wing, Region and National CAP officers and family members.  The cadets marched in perfect unison to a medley of service branch songs and dipped their guidons as each squadron passed the reviewing stand.
Maj Gen Joseph R. Vazquez, Jr., National Commander of the Civil Air Patrol, praised Col Crawford’s leadership of the Wing for the past four years and presented Col Crawford with the CAP Distinguished Service Award.  Gen Vazquez stated that, “Col Crawford has been extremely successful as the Wing Commander and I’m looking forward to Col Bailey having a very successful career as Commander as well.”  Maj Gen Vazquez noted that the NC Wing is “one of the best in the nation!”
Prior to the Change of Command, C/Col Sean R. Peting of NC-082 (Winston-Salem Comp Squadron) was presented with his Spaatz Award.  In praising C/Col Peting’s hard work, Maj Gen Vazquez noted that less than one-half of 1% of all CAP cadets earn their Spaatz Award.
The CAP National Commander, Maj Gen Vazquez, also presented the NC Wing with the Unit Citation Award for the Wing’s exemplary efforts and success over the past four years.  Col Crawford accepted the Award on behalf of the Wing.
Col John M. Knowles, the Middle East Region Commander, officiated at the Change of Command ceremony and oversaw the passing of the Colors from Col Crawford to Col Bailey.
As part of the Change of Command, Col Bailey took his Oath as the new Wing Commander.  He then addressed the assembly with an inspiring speech and noted that, “the NC Wing’s success does not hinge on the actions of any one person but, instead, depends on all of us working together towards even greater accomplishments.”
Honored guests at the ceremony included several former NCWG Commanders including Col Roy Douglass and Col Larry Ragland (currently CAP’s National Executive Officer.)   
U.S. Army Col Jayson A. Altieri (also Colonel, CAP), the Chairman of CAP’s Board of Governors, also attended the historic event.  Col Altieri has been a member of the Fayetteville Squadron since 1991 and has always retained his membership in the NC Wing, regardless of his military postings.  Col Altieri stated that, “the NC Wing is losing one great Commander but gaining another great Commander.”  Col Altieri noted that Col Bailey brings good personal skills and operational experience to the Commander’s job and wished him all the best with his new Command.  
The cadet Pass and Review was led by the Encampment Cadet Commander: C/Lt Col J. Holden Browning.   The 26th Cadet Training Squadron (CTS) was led by Squadron Commander C/Maj Nicholas Williams.  The Flight Commanders for the 26th CTS were: C/2d Lt Nick Siciliano (Alpha), C/1st Lt Josh Clark (Bravo), and C/2d Lt Jacob Collins (Charlie.)  The 27th CTS was led by Squadron Commander C/Capt Kate Fitzpatrick.  The Flight Commanders for the 27th CTS were: C/2d Lt Joshua Creech (Delta), C/2d Lt Christopher Herman (Echo), and C/2d Lt Stephen Terway (Foxtrot.)  The 28th CTS was led by Squadron Commander C/Capt Gavin Vlack.  The Flight Commanders for the 28th CTS were: C/2d Lt Braydon Lewis (Golf), C/2d Lt Jackson Shuler (Hotel), and C/2d Lt Josiah Bilbrey (India.)